Gold Star and Tasman Series up for Grabs in Adelaide

November 22, 2023

Gold Star and Tasman Series up for Grabs in Adelaide

Six Garry Rogers Motorsport drivers take on the Adelaide Street Circuit this weekend in S5000, with both the Gold Star and Tasman Series to be decided.

Aaron Cameron enters the weekend with an 84 point lead in the Drivers’ Championship, for which the champion earns the coveted Gold Star. The potential illustrious list that Cameron could join includes previous winners such as John Bowe, Mark Skaife, Will Power and Jason Bright amongst many others.

Jordan Boys is well placed to claim third in the Drivers’ Championship, needing just 15 points to take the spot across the final round. The Valvoline duo will be joined by Ben Bargwanna, Nic Carroll and Nathan Herne as the field also does battle for the Tasman Series title.

The Tasman Series is set to be solely decided across the VAILO Adelaide 500 weekend, with Herne returning to Australia to defend his crown. Herne took the crown last year with four wins from six races.

Bargwanna completes a busy schedule of racing, having followed the back-to-back TCR Australia finale with a trip to the final round of the TCR World Tour in Macau and now the S5000 finale. The Hangcha Forklifts backed entry will be a strong favourite to build on Bargwanna’s fifth place in last year’s Tasman Series.

A strong weekend for Carroll will put him in with a shot of taking a top five in the Drivers’ Championship, while he will be able to utilise his knowledge of the Adelaide Street Circuit from a round in Trans Am in 2020.

Sebastien Amadio also returns to the team, after his only start of the season at Sydney Motorsport Park. The South Australian driver will have the support of friends and family around his home circuit, where he also contested the 2022 Tasman Series.

The action takes place from November 23-26 at the VAILO Adelaide 500.